EAST  TENNESSEE  WANDERERS
Home Calendar of Events Club Officers Membership Information News

 

 

CLUB EVENTS

  https://www.facebook.com/groups/ETWanderers

 

WALK ALERT

 

Please check back for our next walk alert!

 

Questions?  Contact

President@EastTennesseeWanderers.org

 

Please check our Facebook page for last-minute updates and  detailed information for our club events. 

 

Note:  There is a $3.00 fee for our walks.  Please pay the walk leader or use the Online Start Box (OSB).   

 

The OSB is located at https://my.ava.org/index.php. For a "group" club walk -- suggest you wait to make sure it is not cancelled due to inclement weather before registering with OSB. 

 

Information about events for club members only can be accessed at https://www.groupworks.com/.  New members are added to the group when they send in their membership application. 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~
NOTICE:  Before visiting the Smoky Mountains, please review https://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisit/temproadclose.htm.
Also, check for up-to-date information on road closures due to downed trees, unsafe conditions or special events at https://twitter.com/smokiesroadsnps.
A camera was installed at Newfound Gap!

~~~~~~~~~~~

 

MEET & GREETS

The East Tennessee Wanderers and guests

meet socially for dinner on the third Tuesday.

The location changes, so check back for details.

 

I DID A WALK CHALLENGE

Walk 1,049 Minutes

 (February 1st to March 31st) 


2021 WALK SCHEDULE

Notes:

  • Our events take place unless weather presents a danger to the participants either while walking or getting to the start point.  Contact the Club President if you have any concerns.

  • It is important to stay hydrated.  Please bring water to drink during ALL walks. 

  • If you have not walked in awhile, please do not start off trying to walk the 10K distance, but walk the 5K instead. 

 

PRINTER-FRIENDLY SCHEDULE

The OSB is located at https://my.ava.org/index.php.

 

  DATE DAY LOCATION TYPE & RATING
January Saturday Alcoa Greenway
(Afternoon Walk)
YRE
5/10 KM
1A
January 12 Tuesday West Town Mall
(Fun Walk)
Non-AVA
1A
January 23 Saturday Townsend
(Peaceful Side of
the Smokies)
YRE 7/11/14 KM
2A
February 6 Saturday Gatlinburg Tourist YRE
5/10 KM
1A
February 9 Tuesday Wares Bend Road Fun
5/10 KM
1A
February 20 Saturday Knoxville UT YRE
7/10 KM
3A
March 9 Tuesday
Wildcat Pointe: Morganton Branch/Wildcat Ridge
FUN
5/10 KM
3C
March 13 Saturday Knoxville Music, Moonshine & Arts YRE
5/10 KM
1A
March 27 Saturday Rogersville
(NEW -- Online
Start Box)
YRE
5/10 KM
1A (Cancelled - weather)
April 10 Saturday Sequoyah Hills/Dogwood Trail FUN
5 KM
1A
April 13 Tuesday The Cove
at Concord Park
FUN
5 KM
April 24 Saturday NEW - North Knoxville (OSB Only) YRE
5/10 KM
(Cancelled - weather)
May 1 Saturday NEW - North Knoxville (OSB Only) YRE
5 KM
May 8 Saturday Clinton 12 Historic YRE
5/10 KM
2A
May 11 Tuesday Founders Park TGW
5/10 KM
1A
May 22 Saturday Maryville YRE
5/10 KM
1A
June 5 Saturday Secret City Historic YRE
5/10 KM
1A
June 8 Tuesday I.C. King Park TGW
5/10 KM
2C/3C
June 19 Saturday Members' Picnic YRE
5/10 KM
July 10 Saturday Ijams Nature Center FUN
5/10 KM
1B
July 13 Tuesday Concord Park TGW
5/10 KM
2C
July 24 Saturday Elkmont Historic Trail YRE
7/12 KM
2C
August 7 Saturday Gatlinburg Trail
(Starts at the SVC)
YRE
7/10 KM
2B
August 10 Tuesday UT Aboretum
in Oak Ridge
TGW
5/10 KM
2B/3B
August 14 Saturday Look Rock Tower
Lawn Chair Picnic
FUN
5 KM
2A
August 21 Saturday Appalachian Trail/Newfound Gap
(OSB Only)
YRE
5/10 KM
4C
September 10 Friday Maryville
 (Evening)
YRE
5 KM
1A
September 14 Tuesday Baker Hollow Branch in Lenoir City TGW
5/10 KM
2B
September 25 Saturday Seven Islands State Birding Park
(OSB Only)
YRE
5/10 KM
3B
October 9 Saturday Alcoa/Maryville Extended Greenway YRE
5/10/20 KM
1A
October 12 Tuesday TBD TGW
5/10 KM
October 23 Saturday Linda Nelson Memorial in Alcoa YRE
5/10 KM
1A
November 9 Tuesday TBD TGW
5/10 KM
November 13 Saturday Ft. Loudoun State Historic Park YRE
5/10 KM
3C
November 26 Friday Opt Outside - Ijams Nature Center TGW
5/10 KM
2B
December TBD Saturday Blount County Jaycee's Christmas Parade Members' Lunch
December 14 Tuesday TBD TGW
5/10 KM

 

For information about club walks, please go to the AVA website at

https://my.ava.org/event-view.php?club=AVA-0948

															

 

ACRONYMS

AT = Appalachian Trail

AVA = American Volkssport Association

GSMNP = Great Smoky Mountains National Park

KM = Kilometer / Each Kilometer is equivalent to 0.6214 miles.

MMA = Music, Moonshine and Art

OSB = Online Start Box

PSB = Physical Start Box

SVC = Sugarlands Visitor Center

TBD = To Be Determined

TE = Traditional Event

TGW = Traveling Guided Walk

UT = University of Tennessee

YRE = Year Round Event

 

AVA TYPES

Traditional Events (TE) are walks limited to one or two days with a set start and end time.  Use the OSB or pay the $3 to the walk leader.

  

Traveling Guided Walk (TGW) are done as a group at different locations throughout the year.  Pay the $3 to the walk leader.  Details about these walks are NOT on the AVA website. 

 

Year Round Events (YRE) can be done as a group, and also as an individual.  Use the OSB or pay the $3 to the walk leader.   

 

Fun -- no $3 charge, and no stamp in books. 

 

Our club's walks are located in Alcoa, Clinton, Elkmont, Gatlinburg, Knoxville, Maryville, Oak Ridge, Rogersville, Seven Islands State Birding Park, Townsend and Vonore.   Plus, the Appalachian Trail in Tennessee. 

 

"WHAT YOU WILL SEE IN EAST TENNESSEE" (Video)

 

AVA TRAIL/ROUTE RATING SYSTEM
 
Part 1 – INCLINE/ELEVATION
 
Part 2 - TERRAIN
1
Very small hills or very little stair climbing.
A
Almost entirely on pavement.
2
Some moderate hills or stair climbing.
B
A significant part of the route is on well-groomed trails with very few obstacles.
3
Some significant hill or stair climbing.
C
A significant part of the route is on somewhat difficult terrain (rocky/rooted paths or soft sand.)
4
Lots of significant hills or stair climbing.
D
A significant part of the route is on very difficult terrain.
5
Many  steep  hills.
E
The majority of the route is on very difficult terrain.
Updated  07/24/21

Copyright 2003 You.com. All Rights Reserved. Expression Web Templates Resource