EAST  TENNESSEE  WANDERERS
Home Calendar of Events Club Officers Membership Information News

 

WALK ALERT

 

Please check back for our next walk alert. 

 

Questions?  Email President@EastTennesseeWanderers.org    


~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

The Museum in Oak Ridge is closed and will

not open in their new location until Fall 2018.

THE OAK RIDGE WALK IS CLOSED UNTIL FUTHER NOTICE!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~
NOTICE:  Before visiting the Smoky Mountains, please review https://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisit/temproadclose.htm.
Also, check for up-to-date information on road closures due to downed trees, unsafe conditions or special events at https://twitter.com/smokiesroadsnps.

~~~~~~~~~~~

 

MEET & GREETS

The East Tennessee Wanderers and guests meet socially on the

 third Tuesday at 6:00 pm to hear about upcoming walks at the

Olive Garden, 7206 Kingston Pike, Knoxville, TN.

Exceptions:  October and December are for members only!

For severe weather conditions, the meeting will be cancelled. 

 

I DID A WALK CHALLENGE

Walk 1,049 Minutes

 (February 1st to March 31st)

 

2018 WALK SCHEDULE

Notes:

  • Our events take place unless weather presents a danger to the participants either while walking or getting to the start point.  Contact the Club President if you have any concerns.

  • It is important to stay hydrated.  Please bring water to drink during ALL walks. 

  • If you have not walked in awhile, please do not start off trying to walk the 10k distance for a Club Walk, but walk the 5k instead. 

 

PRINTER-FRIENDLY VERSION

 

MONTH DATE DAY LOCATION TYPE & RATING
January 1 Monday UT Arboretum
Walk
CE
1B
January 6 Saturday Gatlinburg Tourist Walk YRE 5KM
1A
January 20 Saturday YRE 5/10KM
2B
February 3 Saturday Alcoa Greenway Walk YRE 5/10KM
1A
February 18 Sunday Peaceful Side of the Smokies
(Townsend)
YRE 6/11/14KM
2A
March 3 Saturday YRE 5/10KM 3C
March 17 Saturday Rogersville Historic
(St. Patty's Day)
YRE 6/10KM 1A
March 31 Saturday Sequoyah Hills Greenway
(Dogwood Trails)
CE
1A
April 14 Saturday

Knoxville UT Walk (Rossini Festival)

YRE 7/12KM
3A
April 21 Saturday

Cumberland Mountain (NEW)

Cancelled - trail maintenance!

CE
2B
May 5 Saturday

Clinton 12

Historic Walk

(Antique Festival)

YRE 5/10KM
2A
May 19 Saturday

Asheville NC Arboretum

(Azalea Walk)

YRE 5/10/11/21KM
3B
May 19 Saturday Lake Junaluska Walk in NC YRE 7/10KM
3B
May 26 Saturday

Maryville Walk  (Farmers' Market)

YRE 5KM
2B
June 9 Saturday Secret City Historic Walk  (Oak Ridge's 75th Birthday) YRE 5KM
1A
June 23 Saturday

Cades Cove (Potluck Picnic)

CE
2B
July 7 Saturday Elkmont Historic Trail GSMNP (Cookie Walk) YRE 7/12KM
2C
July 21 Saturday Newfound Gap
AT Section Hike (NEW / GSMNP)
YRE 5/13KM
3C
August 3 Friday

Knoxville MMA

(First Friday Night)

YRE 5/10KM
2A
August 18 Saturday Gatlinburg Trail (GSMNP) YRE 7/10KM 2B
September 1 Saturday CE
 2B
September 16 Sunday

Melton Lake Walk (NEW / Progressive Picnic)

Members Only
September 29 Saturday Ft. Loudoun State Historic Walk YRE 5/10KM
3C
October 16 Tuesday
 
Octoberfest Dinner
 Members Only
October 27 Saturday Ijams/Urban Wilderness CE
November 3 Saturday

 

North Knoxville

(NEW / Brat Feed)

CE
November 23 Friday

Knoxville MMA #OptOutside (Christmas LIghts)

YRE 5/10KM
2A
December 8 Saturday Maryville
Christmas Parade
Members Only
December 15 Saturday

Alcoa Greenway (Night Walk)

YRE 5/10KM
1A

 

ACRONYMS

AT = Appalachian Trail

AVA = American Volkssport Association

CE = Community Event

GSMNP = Great Smoky Mountains National Park

KM = Kilometer / Each Kilometer is equivalent to 0.6214 miles.

MMA = Music, Moonshine and Art

NC = North Carolina

TBA = To Be Announced

UT = University of Tennessee

YRE = Year Round Event

 

AVA TYPES

 

Community Events (CE) are done as a group, tend to be shorter in length, and do not count for credit – no stamping in your books. 

 

Year Round Events (YRE) can be done as a group.  Watch for the starting time and the starting point announced in the “Walk Alerts.”  These walks count towards credit, so bring your books to stamp! 

 

YRE walks can also be done at any time.  Just go to the starting point, ask for the Walk Box, sign in, get the directions, and wander!

 

Our Club's "Walk Boxes" are located in Alcoa, Clinton, Elkmont, Gatlinburg, Knoxville, Maryville, Oak Ridge, Rogersville, Townsend and Vonore.   For additional information, please go to http://clubs.ava.org/ava_search.asp.

 

NEW this year is a virtual "Walk Box" for sections of the AT!

 

AVA TRAIL/ROUTE RATING SYSTEM
 
Part 1 – INCLINE/ELEVATION
 
Part 2 - TERRAIN
1
Very small hills or very little stair climbing.
A
Almost entirely on pavement.
2
Some moderate hills or stair climbing.
B
A significant part of the route is on well-groomed trails with very few obstacles.
3
Some significant hill or stair climbing.
C
A significant part of the route is on somewhat difficult terrain (rocky/rooted paths or soft sand.)
4
Lots of significant hills or stair climbing.
D
A significant part of the route is on very difficult terrain.
5
Many  steep  hills.
E
The majority of the route is on very difficult terrain.
Updated 10/20/18

Copyright 2003 You.com. All Rights Reserved. Expression Web Templates Resource