EAST  TENNESSEE  WANDERERS 
Home Calendar of Events Club Officers Membership Information News

 

Calendar of Events

https://www.facebook.com/groups/ETWanderers

 

Visit our Facebook page for announcements

about our Meet and Greets (M&G)!

 

WALK ALERT

LINDA NELSON MEMORIAL WALK

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 8TH


Join the East Tennessee Wanderers for a traditional 5K and 10K walk on the Maryville/Alcoa Greenway in Alcoa, TN. 

As a traditional AVA event, walkers can start anytime between 9:00 am and 11:00 am.  Each walker will be given a map & instructions and allowed to walk at their own pace.

Plus, guided group walks will be offered starting at 9:00 am for the 10K walk, and at 10:00 am for the 5K walk. 

We will meet near the Cedar Lawn Cemetery at the southern end of Kings Court in Alcoa.  You can park at the Quality Inn at 206 Corporate Pl, Alcoa, TN or near the start table at the southern end of Kings Court.

This is a completely paved walk on the Greenway that is generally flat as it follows along Pistol Creek.

We will have an optional lunch, outdoors, weather permitting, at the Blackhorse Pub & Brewery in Alcoa, 441 N Hall Rd, Alcoa, TN following the completion of our walks.

This is a sanctioned AVA event and there is a modest $3.00 fee payable at the registration table at the start of your walk.  Please bring exact change.

RSVP? 
Please send an email to  President@EastTennesseeWanderers.org
and indicate your preferred distance,
and if you are joining the lunch bunch.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NOTICE:
  Before visiting the Smoky Mountains review
https://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisit/temproadclose.htm
.
Also, check for up-to-date information on road closures due to downed trees, unsafe conditions or special events at https://twitter.com/smokiesroadsnps.
A camera was installed at Newfound Gap!

~~~~~~~~~~~

I DID A WALK CHALLENGE

Walk 1,049 Minutes

 (February 1st to March 31st) 

~~~~~~~~~~~


2022 WALK SCHEDULE
Rough Draft -- Please check back for changes made throughout the year. 

PLEASE SCROLL DOWN TO UNDERSTAND
ACRONYMS AND TRAIL RATINGS. 

Notes:

  • Our events take place unless weather presents a danger to the participants either while walking or getting to the start point.  Contact the Club President if you have any concerns.

  • It is important to stay hydrated.  Please bring water to drink during ALL walks. 

  • If you have not walked in awhile, please do not start off trying to walk the 10K distance, but walk the 5K instead. 

  • Information about events for club members only can be accessed at https://www.groupworks.com/.  New members are added to the group when they send in their membership application. 

 

DOWNLOAD -  PRINTER-FRIENDLY SCHEDULE

 

The OSB is located at https://my.ava.org/index.php.

 

MONTH DATE DAY LOCATION TYPE & RATING
January 22 Saturday Riverwalk Greenway
Pigeon Forge, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
1A
February 7 Monday Lakeshore Park
Greenway
Knoxville, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
1A
February 12 Saturday Maryville Downtown
Maryville, TN
YRE
5/10 KM
2A
February 26 Saturday Concord Park East
Farragut, TN
TGW
5/10 KM 2B/3C
March 7 Monday McFee Rd &
Pryse Farm Greenways
Farragut, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
2A
March 12 Saturday Rogersville Historic
Rogersville, TN
CANCELLED!
YRE
6/10 KM
2A
March 15 Tuesday Meet & Greet M&G
March 18 Friday Excursion
Knoxville, TN
FUN
March 26 Saturday Emory Valley &  Melton Lake  Greenways 
  Oak Ridge, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
1A
April 4 Monday Gatlinburg Tourist
Gatlinburg, TN
YRE
5/10 KM
1A
April 9 Saturday Brushy Mountain
Petros, TN
FUN
1A
April 15 Friday Victor Ashe Pleasant Ridge Greenways
Knoxville, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
1A
April 23 Saturday Third Creek Greenway
Knoxville, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
1A
May 2 Monday Wildflowers Walk GSMNP
Townsend, TN
FUN
8 KM
3C
May 14 Saturday Secret City Historic
Oak Ridge, TN
YRE
5/10 KM
2A
May 17 Tuesday Meet & Greet M&G
May 23 Monday Maryville/Alcoa
Extended Greenway
CANCELLED!
YRE
5/10/21KM
1A
May 28 Saturday Enterprise South
Chattanooga, TN
TGW
6/11 KM
1B/2C
June 6 Monday Seven Islands State Birding Park
Kodak, TN
YRE
5/12 KM
2B/3C
June 11 Saturday Members’ Picnic
Park Pavilion
Maryville, TN
YRE
5/10 KM
1A
June 17 Friday  Knoxville
 Walking Tours
Knoxville, TN
FUN
1-3 KM
1A
June 25 Saturday IC King Park,
Knoxville, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
2B/3C
July 9 Saturday Hall's Bend Trail
Lenoir City, TN
CANCELLED!
TGW
5/10 KM
2B/3C
July 15 Friday Ware's Bend
Greenback, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
2B
July 19 Tuesday Meet & Greet M&G
July 23 Saturday Lost Seas
Sweetwater, TN
FUN
1 KM
1B
August 1 Monday Ijams Nature Ctr
Urban Wilderness
Knoxville, TN
TGW
5/10 KM 2B/3C
August 13 Saturday Obed Wild & Scenic River
Wartburg, TN
TGW
7K/10K
3C
August 19 Friday Norris Lake State Park
Songbird Trail
Norris, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
1B
August 27 Saturday Davis Ferry Branch
East Lakeshore
Lenoir City, TN
TGW
5/11 KM
2B/3C
September 2 Friday Maryville
Evening
Maryville, TN
YRE
5 KM
2A
September 10 Saturday Elkmont Historic
GSMNP
Elkmont, TN
YRE
7/12 KM
2B
September 16 Friday Conasauga Falls
Tellico Plains, TN
CANCELLED!
FUN
TBD
September 20 Tuesday Octoberfest
Schultz Brau
Knoxville, TN
Meet & Greet
September 24 Saturday Founders Park/Grigsby
Chapel Rd Greenway
Farragut, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
2A
October 3 Monday Gatlinburg Trail
GSMNP
Gatlinburg, TN
YRE
7/10 KM
1B/2B
October 8 Saturday Linda Nelson Memorial Walk
Alcoa Greenway
Alcoa, TN
TE
5/10 KM
1A
October 14 Friday Corn Maze
(Kyker Farm)
Sevierville, TN
FUN
1-3 KM
1B
October 22 Saturday Hall Bend Trail
Lenoir City, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
2C/3C
October 28 Friday Metcalf Bottom-Walker Sisters
Wear's Valley
FUN
5 KM
3C
November 7 Monday Sharp's Ridge Veterans
Memorial Park Knoxville, TN
TGW
5/10 KM
2B/3C
November 12 Saturday Ft. Loudoun Historic State Park
Vonore, TN
YRE
5/10 KM
2B/3C
November 15 Tuesday Meet & Greet M&G
November 26 Saturday MMA
(Holiday Decor)
Knoxville, TN
YRE
5/10 KM
2A
December 3 Saturday  Jaycees
Christmas Parade
(Members Only)
Maryville, TN
FUN
5/12 KM
2A
December 10 Saturday Holiday Lights
Knoxville, TN
FUN
TBD

 

For information about club walks, please go to the AVA website at

https://my.ava.org/event-view.php?club=AVA-0948
 

															

ACRONYMS

AT = Appalachian Trail

AVA = American Volkssport Association

GSMNP = Great Smoky Mountains National Park

KM = Kilometer / Each Kilometer is equivalent to 0.6214 miles.

M&G = Meet & Greet

MMA = Music, Moonshine and Art

OSB = Online Start Box

PSB = Physical Start Box

SVC = Sugarlands Visitor Center

TBD = To Be Determined

TE = Traditional Event

TGW = Traveling Guided Walk

UT = University of Tennessee

YRE = Year Round Event

 

AVA TYPES

 

Traditional Events (TE) are walks limited to one or two days with a set start and end time.  Use the OSB or pay the $3 to the walk leader.

  

Traveling Guided Walk (TGW) are done as a group at different locations throughout the year.  Pay the $3 to the walk leader.  Details about these walks are NOT on the AVA website. 

 

Year Round Events (YRE) can be done as a group, and also as an individual.  Use the OSB or pay the $3 to the walk leader for guided walks.  Guided walks are listed with dates on our annual club calendar.  Walk alerts will provide more details for each walk. 

 

If walking as an individual on your own time, you can use the OSB or mail in your $3 to the club treasurer using the envelope provided in the traditional walk box -- if one is available.  Due to some locations, not all YRE's have a traditional walk box with maps and directions, but details can be downloaded from the OSB.  

 

FUN -- no $3 charge, and no stamp in books. 

 

Our club's YRE walks are located in Alcoa, Clinton, Elkmont, Gatlinburg, Knoxville, Maryville, Oak Ridge, Rogersville, Seven Islands State Birding Park, Townsend and Vonore.   Plus, hiking on the Appalachian Trail in Tennessee. 

 

Our TGW and FUN walks may be in a variety of locations.  Details are posted in the walk alerts.

 

"WHAT YOU WILL SEE IN EAST TENNESSEE" (Video)

 

AVA TRAIL/ROUTE RATING SYSTEM

 
Part 1 – INCLINE/ELEVATION
 
Part 2 - TERRAIN
1
Very small hills or very little stair climbing.
A
Almost entirely on pavement.
2
Some moderate hills or stair climbing.
B
A significant part of the route is on well-groomed trails with very few obstacles.
3
Some significant hill or stair climbing.
C
A significant part of the route is on somewhat difficult terrain (rocky/rooted paths or soft sand.)
4
Lots of significant hills or stair climbing.
D
A significant part of the route is on very difficult terrain.
5
Many  steep  hills.
E
The majority of the route is on very difficult terrain.
Updated 10/03/22

Copyright 2003 You.com. All Rights Reserved. Expression Web Templates Resource